Workshops and Courses

Choose from a wide range of educational workshops and courses focused on difficult conversations in healthcare led by a team of experts in medicine, psycho-social dynamics, and the patient perspective. All educational offerings are based on a robust approach to practice-based, experiential learning, utilizing live enactments, evocative trigger films, and engaged discussion to explore and improve a particular area of clinical practice.

Difficult Conversations in Health Care Workshops and Courses 2017-18 Schedule

Workshop Date Continuing Education BCH Staff Only
Online: Disclosure and Apology after a Medical Adverse Event (link will take you to the OPENPediatrics website) Self-paced components are on-going CME, Risk Management, MOC
Online: Aligning Patient-Provider Expectations for Informed Consent (link will take you to the OPENPediatrics website) Self-paced and on-going CME will be available in January 2018
Neurology: Bearing Bad News Tuesday, September 19, 2017 yes
Difficult Conversations in Radiology Thursday, October 12, 2017 CME, Risk Management, CNE
Cardiovascular and Critical Care - Children with Special Healthcare Needs Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) Thursday, November 9, 2017
Neurology: Challenges in Supervision Tuesday, November 14, 2017 yes
Cardiovascular and Critical Care - Children with Special Healthcare Needs Tuesday, November 28, 2017 CNE
Neurology: NICU Tuesday, February 6, 2018 yes
Moderated Online Workshop: Disclosure and Apology after a Medical Adverse Event Tuesday, February 13, 2018 CME, Risk Management, MOC
Difficult Conversations in Healthcare: Teaching and Practice in an Interprofessional World Saturday, March 24, 2018 CME/IPCE, MOC, Risk Management
Neurology: Somatoform Disorders Tuesday, April 3, 2018 yes
Difficult Conversations in Radiology Saturday, April 28, 2018 CME, Risk Management, CNE
Difficult Conversations in Healthcare: Teaching and Practice in an Interprofessional World Saturday, May 12, 2018 CME/IPCE, MOC, Risk Management
Supporting Families at the Bedside Tuesday, May 1, 2018 CNE yes
Palliative Care Conversations Across the Spectrum of Care Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Difficult Conversations in Healthcare: Teaching and Practice in an Interprofessional World Saturday, June 9, 2018 CME/IPCE, MOC, Risk Management